How to survive baby catnapping

One week after giving birth to my baby I was sent a link to a Thud post called “Are successful women unsuccessful mums?“.

I re-read that post again today some ten weeks into parenthood and in the same blurry-eyed state I was in during the first week.

I too have a baby in the “Sleep is for Losers” club; she takes up prime position as Executive Director of Catnapping.

My plan for today was to have no plans. No social outings or walks. The only item on my agenda was to tackle the catnapping head on.

I failed. Stop reading now if you are looking for “the answer” to solving the catnapping dilemma forever. You won’t find it here.

The community nurses told me that babies of this age should be settled for sleep after 1-1.5 hours of wake time.

Okay, I thought. I can do this. A schedule. I have a baby and a watch. Goodbye catnapping!

The Executive Director of Catnapping had other plans. Plans to fight sleep and my constant efforts to resettle. There was no room for negotiation apparently!

I feel completely defeated by a ten week old baby. I’ve been a successful woman in all other facets of life, but today, I have been an unsuccessful mum. And I know why (here I go, overanalysing things again!).

I was fool enough to think I could solve all my catnapping problems by dedicating a day to addressing the issue.

Who am I kidding? Heck, I have a ten week old baby; a tiny ruler. I can’t outsmart her. Even when you think you have figured out your baby, they go and change the rules on you again.

I started today with expectations about something I did not have control over. After more and more attempts to feed/play/sleep/resettle/resettle/resettle (you get the picture) failed, the more frustrated I became. We were on the downwards spiral to my failure from early in the day.

I was only unsuccessful because of my own unrealistic expectations. It’s time to surrender to my tiny ruler and go with the flow. We will both have better days for it.

PS if you do have “the answer” to solving catnapping, let me know! 😉

2 thoughts on “How to survive baby catnapping

  1. oh good luck with that lovely! Catnapping is the worst. I went to QEII when mine was 7 weeks old because of the catnapping (10-20min at best) and even the nurses there shook their heads and said “he’s a mystery!”
    Not comforting!
    But…. After 12 months of trying everything and eventually giving up and letting him do what he wants, he now sleeps a solid THREE hours in the middle of the day. It’s heaven! You’ll get there too xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh good luck lovely! Catnapping is the worst. I went to QEII with mine when he was 7 weeks old because of the catnapping (10-20min at best) and even the nurses there shook their heads and said “he’s a mystery!” Not comforting!
    But – after 12 months of trying everything and eventually giving up and letting him do what he wants, he now sleeps for a solid THREE hours in the middle of the day. It’s heaven!
    Stay strong. You’ll get there! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

